Time’s fun when you’re having flies.

11 Jul

Time flies when you’re having fun. Also, Time’s fun when you’re having flies. Don’t tell me you haven’t seen that on a tank top…

Anyway, time seems to fly when you get older. Doesn’t it? Aren’t we adults always saying things like, “Where has the time gone?”

When two little kids haven’t seen each other in a few months, you’re not going to hear, “Billy, where has the time gone?” Probably something more like, “Let’s go throw rocks at that tree.” Is Billy even a real kid name anymore?

But why is this?

I know, I know, because we’re adults, right?

I have been thinking about time, partly because it has been a month since my last blog entry and partly because it will be my one-year wedding anniversary on Sunday (and yes, my husband and I are accepting cash gifts, if you’re asking).

So, time. Why does it seem to go by so quickly as we get older? I think this happens for two reasons. One: as we age, we do inevitably have more responsibilities and obligations to fill our time, so time does seem to speed up as we are speeding around through life. When you’re buzzing around like a busy bee and you finally stop, breathe and look around, it seems that time has swiftly come and gone.

And two: we gain the ability to look into the future and remember the past, which takes us out of the moment that we’re in. While it is impossible, at least for me, to always be in the moment, it’s not so impossible for kids, which is part of the reason why time seemed to float by when we were younger. I mean, can’t you remember how long it felt between Christmases when you were little? Eternity!

I suppose some of this is inevitable. And I like to be busy, but as I get older, I am also learning it is nice to have downtime.

My advice. Spend a little downtime today. It doesn’t even have to be quiet time, just unplug from your phone, TV, running around, whatever. Think about some of your happiest times and do those things. Unless you are independently wealthy, this probably needs to be more of a “playing with your kids/dog” versus “sipping a cold drink in the Caribbean.” Or, what the hell, make yourself a pina colada and drink it in your living room. Go wild.

My second piece of advice: Focus in on this moment and know that you are reading my blog and that obviously this has been a good way to spend the last five minutes or so.

Now, go do good things!

 

2 Responses to “Time’s fun when you’re having flies.”

  1. Tiffany July 11, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    OMG-this post made me laugh! “Hey Billy, want to throw rocks at a tree?”!! Hahaha! Love u Katie! PS-I’m still kidnapped and my kidnappers want to know why you never responded to my ransom voicemail I left you….

    • katieannmeyer July 11, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

      Doesn’t it count as a response if I SAW you in person?

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

