The deadline.

9 May

I miss my grandma. She was a sassy, secure chatty cathy, and I loved her dearly. The daughter of a Polish immigrant, she always had fascinating, and sometimes priceless, insights to share.

This little slice stuck with me the most. “Oprah says try different jobs. Experiment with what you want to do professionally, but by the time you’re thirty, you should be on track to what you want to do.”

Man, did she love herself some Oprah. She also told me she would leave my grandfather for Paul Newman as soon as he came for her and that a woman can never be too tall, too thin, or wear too much beige.

But back to the Oprah advice.

Thirty. It’s a checkpoint where you are supposed to evaluate what you’ve done so far and judge yourself accordingly. The day you turn thirty, you can suddenly look back at your twenties and define the decade. If I had to define my twenties in one word it would be wrinkle-free. Just kidding (and technically that’s two words, hyphenated).

But my twenties were certainly an adventure. The journey kind of looked like the Candy Land game board. I lived in eight different cities full of ups and downs and twists and turns. I also spent a lot of time at the career buffet (what, you don’t remember that spot in Candy Land?). I tried this and that. Sometimes, things seemed good in a small serving, but not so much as the entire meal. I’m not very adept at understanding things until I try them out for myself (which is all well and fine until you feel like a grown ass woman who thinks she wants to be an astronaut one week and an opera singer the next). For those of you whose first sentence was, “I want to be a (insert lawyer, doctor here) when I grow up,” and now, you are actually (that thing), this may not be making a lot of sense to you…

This Sex and the City quote is a nice punctuation to this piece. (it also makes me feel better about myself and probably dates me).

“Maybe mistakes are what make our fate…without them what would shape our lives? Maybe if we never veered off course we wouldn’t fall in love, have babies, or be who we are.” – Carrie Bradshaw

Most importantly, Grandma, I hope you know that I want to be a writer and that’s what I’m doing! I made the deadline. 😉

4 Responses to “The deadline.”

  1. Obi Okorougo May 9, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    ‘I want to be a writer..’

    You ARE a writer. 🙂

  2. Tiffany May 11, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    I LOVED this entry-with my Grandmas 1 year death date approaching next week, she’s been on my mind a ton and I so wish I could tell what’s been going on in my life lately. So I love that in a sense you were talking to her and updating her. I like thinking that they can hear us still. She is so proud of you!

    • katieannmeyer May 13, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

      I’ll be thinking about you next week Tiff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

Renegade Writer Press

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

