Boston.

16 Apr

I couldn’t bring myself to blog today about anything aside from what happened in Boston yesterday.

When I first heard there was an explosion at the Boston Marathon, my initial thought was not terrorism. Granted, at that point I didn’t know much about the story, but in retrospect, I am pleased that even in this post-9/11 world, I can say I have not been completely consumed by fear. Things have changed, and yet our American way of life prevails.

Of course, the more I learned, the more I realized this was some kind of act of terror, regardless if the “mastermind” is a lone nut or an organized group. As information flooded my computer, phone, and television, 9/11 entered my thoughts. What if this kind of instant access to media had existed in 2001? Is it even possible there was once a time before Facebook and Twitter? But our increased technology since then ensured that when this happened, 99% of those Boston Marathon spectators had video and photos on their phones. Thousands of pieces of near instant evidence. Of course, all this technology has some negative impact. Opinions and half-truths become fact as the train speeds by and it becomes impossible to check everything, to decipher true and false.

The marathon, or any running race for that matter, embodies the triumphant human spirit. The environment is charged with positive energy and camaraderie. I have been both a participant and spectator at many running events and I have always left feeling better, even if my body left in pain. I ran a half marathon here in St. Louis last weekend and like thousands of races across the country, it was chock-full of volunteers, cheering us on, when they could have been sleeping in that Sunday morning.

And guess what? That is not going anywhere. Yes, security will be tightened. Yes, we will all be more vigilant. But after yesterday, I felt more inspired to attempt the Boston Marathon than ever before. Terror was incited, but only to breed resolve and unity.

So, what can we all do?

1. Show respect for those affected.

2. Tell your loved ones that you LOVE them.

3. Educate yourself on what is going on.

4. Pray.

5. Sign up for a running race.

You can also find ways to help victims here: http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2013/04/boston-marathon-victims-how-to-help-find-information/

Count your blessings.

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

