Book club.

10 Apr

Let’s talk book club.

I will do whatever it takes to get my book into the book club circuits (sounds dramatic, doesn’t it?). Of course, this is a little premature as the book is not even finished yet, but life is all about thinking ahead, isn’t it?

So, what makes a good book club book? The obvious answer is a “good” book, right?

I’ve found the best book club books aren’t just well written books. They are books that create discussion and ask open-ended questions. Books with the ability to compel a group of ladies, cheeks pink from wine, to put down the cheese and crackers long enough to ask themselves, “What would I do in this situation?”

Mmmmmm, cheese and crackers…

When I lived in LA, my book club should have been re-named ‘Eat, eat, eat, eat, oh yeah, there was a book’ club. And cheese and crackers were for amateurs. We are talking macaroni and cheese bar, make-your-own homemade pizzas, and brunch for dinner. Side note – I need to hurry this blog along so I can go eat lunch. And now that I’m in a book club in St. Louis, I’ve brought the “food is as important as the book” sentiment with me. We just read the Omnivore’s Dilemma and everyone had to bring something local or organic. Though the content was interesting, I think I might have enjoyed the Missouri tomatoes more than the book.

I also think this post might be more about food than books. Maybe I should have written a cookbook.

On that note, any good book recommendations? And let’s be real here, recipe recommendations? Extra points for a book and matching recipe.

 

6 Responses to “Book club.”

  1. Faith See April 10, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    Cookbooks –
    Naturally Fast Food
    Jerusalem: A cookbook
    What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Pieces
    It’s All Good (Gwyneth. Obvi)

    Fiction –
    Atonement, Ian McEwan (I know – old news. But I just finished and WOW)
    The Day of the Locust, Nathaniel West (will *kind of* make you miss LA…kind of)
    Light Years, James Salter (atmosphere and time lapse (amazing)..and more atmosphere)
    When the Killing is Done, TC Boyle (really anything TC Boyle)
    A Fan’s Notes, Frederick Exley
    A Man in Full, Tom Wolfe

    …..I could go on…and on…most fav lists to make ever….miss you doll!

    • katieannmeyer April 10, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      Oooh! I love this list! And I love that one of the cookbooks is called What Katie Ate. 🙂

  2. Tammie Meena April 10, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Yes! Book club! I’ve already let everyone know your book will be our club read when it’s ready. Along with discussion questions in the back of your book, you should have suggested menu/food themes for book clubs like ours 🙂

    Book Club Recommendation:
    The Fault in Our Stars: John Green
    American Wife: Curtis Sittenfeld
    Before I Go to Sleep: SJ Watson

    And FYI, Defending Jacob (your pick) is still one of my favorite book club books and breakfast for dinner was my favorite food theme (not sure if that was your decision, but thought I would add my favorite food theme since it’s just as important as the book :))

    • katieannmeyer April 10, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Done and done. I am so glad that without a doubt, I will be able to sell at least, like, 10 books!

  3. Robin Pell Kachurak April 28, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    I am patiently waiting for the day, when one or both of the book clubs I belong to, will be reading your book. Of course, I have already planned it out… I will be hosting the book club meeting that month, and while I’m at it, I may have to get out a few photos of the author herself! All the time I will be prancing around like a proud peacock. 🙂 Love you, Robin

    • katieannmeyer April 28, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      Thank you! You are the sweetest! Maybe the author can even fly to Arizona and do a Q&A. 😉

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

Renegade Writer Press

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

