Simplicity.

2 Apr

I have ADD. Well, not really. But my mind can be distracted quite easily. I’d like to think that my brain just works too quickly for my own good, but I’m guessing that little ‘self-diagnosis’ is not really the case.

There are times I just want to tell my brain to hold still, quit running around. And like a toddler, it listens for a few minutes before chasing shiny objects again.

This is why I love simplicity. This does not mean that I always choose simplicity. I mean I have at least six tabs open in my browser right now.

My husband and I went grocery shopping on Saturday. It was the same store we often go to, but a different location. As we were perusing the aisles, I said, “I like this store better.” “Why?” He asked. “I don’t know. It seems nicer. There are more options.” Cut to fifteen minutes later. We’re hungry. We haven’t gotten half the items on our list. I’m yelling, “Look how many types of wheat thins there are!!”

I want options and yet they overwhelm me.

I think this is why my blog entries tend towards the shorter side. These blogs are off the cuff, so while they might be mildly entertaining, we’re not talking exceptional devotion to the craft here. I’m not sitting down to write a novel just as you aren’t sitting down to read one. When I read a blog, I don’t really care to read 37 paragraphs, and I sure as hell don’t want to write 37 paragraphs. I like to keep things simple. This doesn’t need to drag on in complication and confusion. I’d like to think of my blog as original flavor, not low-sodium spicy buffalo.

Also, I should point out that in the middle of writing this, I checked my email, clicked on a link in the email, which reminded me of something I needed to do, so I looked it up and then remembered I was in the middle of blogging. Sigh.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

Renegade Writer Press

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

