Keyboards vs. Pens

27 Mar

I’ve heard that they don’t teach handwriting in elementary school anymore.

This makes some sense. We all use computers. Even when I was in school, they stopped teaching cursive after the fourth grade, so my cursive has been preserved just as I last used it, which I learned when attempting to address wedding invitations last year.

However, there are times in life when you still have to write something on a piece of paper that someone else is supposed to read. Who am I? Some kind of handwriting expert? I just want to figure out your email address, not solve some kind of hieroglyphics puzzle. How hard is it to make an “a” look like an “a”?

A question remains. Do you think better through a pen or a keyboard?

It took me a long time to think through a keyboard. In college, I actually used to write all my papers out by hand and retype them. At some point I realized that my oh-so-efficient methods needed to be revamped. I had to train my brain to think through keys. I didn’t come up with a program or anything. The world just became more key-centric. Somewhere through work emails and social media and graduate school, it just happened.

I’m still not the fastest typist out there. I’ve gotten better over the years, but sometimes I still want to think through a pen. I printed out half of my manuscript so I can go through page by page and edit. There is something about seeing a physical page, not on a computer screen, and writing on it.

What do you think? Does anyone still think through pens (or pencils)?

9 Responses to “Keyboards vs. Pens”

  1. Techy-Tiff March 27, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Nope. I’m all techy now. I don’t even like writing in my journal – it feels really slow to me! I like to email myself thoughts and take notes on my “notepad” on my iPhone.
    Katie, why u so lame? 🙂

    • katieannmeyer March 27, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

      Um, I almost didn’t approve your comment. Just so you know.

  2. Kim March 27, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    I write out my thank you cards on paper before I write them on the card, so I don’t think you are lame!

  3. Mark kachurak March 28, 2013 at 2:36 am #

    I think through both. Seems easier to edit on computer although it would be impossible to see what you changed and maybe change your mind back.

    • katieannmeyer March 28, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

      You can use the comments feature in word and track your changes, but I still like to actually write on the piece of paper.

      • Mark kachurak March 29, 2013 at 1:31 am #

        Didn’t know that.

  4. Daniel Ladd March 31, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    I used to handwrite my papers and then type them too. That seems so weird now!

    • katieannmeyer April 1, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Although your handwriting could have passed for type. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

