DIY

19 Mar

I attended a great publishing workshop last night. Believe it or not, it got me thinking about DIY. A panel of experts discussed the world of publishing, which splits into traditional publishing and self-publishing. ‘Traditional’ is taking it to the professionals and ‘Self’ is, you guessed it, doing it yourself.

I’m all for DIY in certain instances, but some things need to be left to the professionals. There is a reason they are called professionals. They have spent years perfecting their craft. You haven’t.

My dad is a do-it-yourselfer, and he is very handy when it comes to basic car maintenance, house painting, yard work, etc. He even put in our above ground pool himself, but when this confidence spilled over into VCR repair, things got ugly. We all have our limits.

While self-publishing has gained traction in recent years and upgraded from it’s previous red-headed step-child status, the big sellers you see in bookstores and online are still traditionally published. I am taking this traditional route for a few reasons. One, I know my limits. Aside from writing, the only useful skill I have in this endeavor is marketing. Outside of those two arenas, I know very little that would be beneficial when it comes to the business of selling a book. I’m also writing what’s termed literary fiction, which essentially means I’m writing about nothing. The Seinfeld of books, but not as funny. (I mean if that doesn’t make you want to read it…) Basically I’m not writing in a genre (i.e. mystery, science fiction, romance). Apparently, it is not very common for literary fiction to be self-published because it prevents the book from winning prestigious literary awards, which I plan on just racking up.

From the weight of the paper to the thickness of the spine to the international rights on a contract to the electronic distribution, after a book is written, there are copious details that go into making and selling books, and that is where I want to hand things over to the pros.

DIY can be great, but sometimes you just have to know when you can’t fix a VCR.

Happy Tuesday!

5 Responses to “DIY”

  1. Mark Kachurak March 21, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    I would love to read your book. Please let me buy a copy. I don’t want a freebie. Gotta support budding authors! Uncle Mark

    • katieannmeyer March 21, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

      Well, as soon as it is finished and available for sale (fingers crossed), I will let you buy as many copies as you would like!

      • Mark Kachurak March 21, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

        Ok. Thanks

  2. Kali Hetrick April 1, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    You should be a wikipedia editor! You are a great writer!

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

Renegade Writer Press

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

