I love hipsters.

7 Mar

That’s right. I said it.

Thick rimmed glasses, a beard, maybe some suspenders. I’m not talking about your grandpa. Hipsters!

I’m not a hipster (I’m not that cool). However, I can’t help but love a place that has hipster written all over it. A local grocery store and deli selling microbrews from St. Louis? (And no, I don’t mean Budweiser).  Yes, please. A coffee-house displaying local art and showcasing local musicians on the weekends? Sounds fabulous.

And while sometimes hipster places can seem, I don’t know, snobby, the core of the establishment is probably not so bad. The hipster movement, if you want to call it that, has roots in counterculture and possesses a progressive foundation, but now, it’s as trendy as a one piece swimsuit and a pair of TOMS. I am all for local businesses, unconventional fashion trends, and some organic kale, but, I mean isn’t Miley Cyrus kind of a hipster now?

And what do hipsters have to do with writing? Well, I do spend half my days in a local coffee shop, the hipster mecca, so, I see my fair share on a regular basis. And don’t worry, I know what I’m talking about. I’ve lived in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Austin, so I know a good hipster when I see one.

Alright, I’ll admit this post might be a little weak today, but I woke up this Thursday morning with hipsters on the brain, and this is what happened.

If nothing else, can you count how many times I said hipster? Turn it into a drinking game. A blog drinking game. So hipster.

 

2 Responses to “I love hipsters.”

  1. Sara Clemons March 8, 2013 at 5:00 am #

    I love your ucsb roots showing there! When all else fails…make it a drinking game.

    For real though, i finally ‘tuned in’ to your blog here and I love it …makes me smile!

    • katieannmeyer March 8, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      I mean if I learned anything at UCSB, it’s that you can turn anything into a drinking game. 😉

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

