Expectations.

22 Feb

I’m sorry I’ve been away. It has been strange not to blog for a week. I’ll explain…

Expectations. They can really get you.

Here were mine for the week. I was feeling a little better over the weekend, so I figured this would be a productive week. In terms of daily work, I needed to hit my word count quota each day. I had planned on blogging a few times and spending some quality time at Hartford Coffee, which is kind of like my writing office. On Tuesday evenings I tutor kids who are tasked with writing and illustrating a book over a three-month period. The girl I work with is seven and pretty hilarious. So far her book follows the journey of ten monkeys through the worlds of Disco Land, Fruit Land, Music Land, and Candy Land. It amazes me how creative children are because they haven’t yet developed the “that doesn’t make sense” filter. My husband and I also started a painting project, and by painting project, we are trying to paint every room in our house before baseball season. We were supposed to have two bathrooms done at this point. I was also planning on heading to the St. Louis City Central Library. St. Louis has one of the largest library systems in the country and the Central Library, which is over 100 years old, just went through a two-year, $70 million renovation.

Alright, now here is how my week actually went.

Pink eye in one eye turned into two. My husband also got pink eye, so we have been just constantly applying eye drops. Instead of sleeping, I spent one night coughing and turning from right to left so that my nose would drain evenly and I could breathe. You know that coughing where you think, if I can just hold it in long enough, it will stop. So, you basically hold your breath until your shoulders start bouncing and the cough breaks through and then you give up. I went to the doctor and was told I have something viral, so all I can do is ride it out. My husband and I have become a symphony of coughing, sniffing, nose blowing, and whining. A little icing on the cake came in the form of a bad snow storm this week, leaving me home bound since Wednesday. We are living in our little dungeon of sickness, thinking each day, ‘surely this is the last day, we have to feel better tomorrow.’ As for our painting project, we got as far as prepping the bathroom walls. The only actual painting has been color testing, which my husband used as an opportunity to draw a piece of male anatomy on our living room wall. I’ll spare you a photo.

Well, if you are already tired of reading this, you can see why I spared you from my blog this week.

Have a wonderful weekend, drink plenty of fluids, and steer clear of the Meyers.

I would also like to dedicate this post to my #1 fan, Tiffany West, who actually asked me why I hadn’t blogged this week. Bless your heart for missing my silly ramblings.

5 Responses to “Expectations.”

  1. Sarah February 22, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    You didn’t spare me the painting picture! Ha ha. I also meant to comment on your last post that you are both 1) always sick and 2) at the most inopportune times. 😉

  2. Tiffany February 23, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

    OMG! I’m famous! You mentioned me in your blog!!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Brandi (@brandivannevel) February 25, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    I really wish you would have shared a photo.

    • katieannmeyer February 26, 2013 at 12:17 am #

      It’s very Picasso-ish. My husband is quite the abstract artist.

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

