Happy Valentine’s Day.

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day. No exclamation point because I am not feeling well. I don’t know if I necessarily get sick a lot or if I just get sick at very inopportune times. I mean, have you ever had food poisoning on New Year’s Eve, had the flu during your high school senior trip in Hawaii, been deathly ill (slight dramatization) on Christmas eve, or had strep throat right before a Bachelorette Party? In case you can’t read between the lines, this girl has.

Why am I sharing this? Justification, I suppose. I had this whole Valentine’s Day post planned and now my brain feels like sludge, so I apologize in advance. Also, I have pink eye for Valentine’s Day, so that’s special…

So, what are the origins of Valentine’s Day? While everyone knows it dates back centuries to St. Valentine, I found it interesting that in the Middle Ages it was a common belief that February 14 was the beginning of bird mating season. By the 17th and 18th centuries, people would give each other hand written notes on this date to celebrate the holiday. (According to http://www.history.com anyway). And now the day after Christmas you walk into a grocery store and Valentine’s Day has thrown up everywhere.

I’m not a Valentine’s Day hater though.

I will admit that pressure seems to fall on the guy to plan something spectacular. Also, he will be unfairly punished if you are the only girl at work without a bouquet of flowers on your desk. And of course Facebook only makes it worse. But I will say that Valentine’s Day doesn’t have to be about fancy dinner plans or jewelry (I can see my husband rolling his eyes as he reads this), but I am serious. I went and bought $2.00 valentines at Target and I have put one under my husband’s pillow each night the past week. They come with mustache tattoos and yesterday we realized they actually say, “Hairy Valentine’s Day,” which made us laugh for a while. Instead of using the tattoo, I draw a little face on and include a message.

Hairy Valentine's Day!

Hairy Valentine’s Day!

My point is this. Valentine’s Day is not inherently bad. It has just gotten a little out of control and there is too much pressure, but let’s just get over it. Let’s listen to the birds mating, laugh, and say an extra I love you today. And if you still haven’t laughed today, watch this: http://screen.yahoo.com/flip-side-valentines-day-000000989.html

Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂

2 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day.”

  1. Tiffany February 14, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    You have pink eye?!!! That sucks!!!! But I mean, of course you do – you are the girl who everything happens to at the worst time (slight dramatization). I love the funny cards you got for Justy though! too funny!

    • katieannmeyer February 15, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      I figured you would appreciate the mustache cards… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

