Married writer seeks critique partner.

8 Feb

An important part of writing, or any job really, is critique.

You are working away, feeling like your practically Hemingway, thinking about what you will say to Oprah when she interviews you about your book (because it was an obvious choice for Oprah’s book club) and then you give someone your work. And like a kick to the gut: who is this character? I don’t understand what’s happening here. This doesn’t make sense. I’m not connecting with your story.

I guess Oprah will have to wait.

I enjoy others critiquing my work because it makes the work better, bottom line. But, finding a critique partner is a delicate dance. You want someone who has a little more experience than you, someone who is a little ahead of you in the process, someone who is frankly, a little better than you. Now add “work that you enjoy reading enough to spend time critiquing” and “a partner that gives constructive feedback” and you may have found the perfect relationship.

It’s like Match.com for writers. It always come back to Match.com, doesn’t it? No? Anyone? I’m married, so no more need for the real Match.com. But when I moved to St. Louis, I wished there was Match.com for friends. Before you judge, you relocate to a new city as an adult and tell me you wouldn’t want something like that. Now it seems I am using Match.com for writers.

I first showed my work to a writer friend, Amy Simpson, who absolutely picked my first chapter apart in the best way possible. I then found a website where you can seek out other critique partners and swap work, which has been hit or miss. One woman asked me if I wanted to try and work together. She looked over my work and gave me a few notes, and then I spent a good hour reading and providing feedback on her work. No response ever again. Even if she thought I was too harsh or didn’t care for my feedback, she could’ve taken the ten seconds to write “Thanks for your input” in an email. I want to take the ten seconds to send her an unsolicited email that says, “You’re welcome.”

I am now working with two other writers and so far, each is a good fit in different ways. Although, I’m still not sure if either is “the one.”

2 Responses to “Married writer seeks critique partner.”

  1. Amy Leigh Simpson February 15, 2013 at 4:25 am #

    Hey, I saw my name in there 🙂 congrats on the blog… Looks great!

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

