The “perils” of writing a novel.

1 Feb

Did you miss me yesterday?

I’ve decided to post three days a week instead of five. I’ve got to make you miss me a little. If I’m too available, you’ll just take me for granted and I’ll end up smothering you.

Well, let’s get right to it. I love to write, but it isn’t always easy. Aside from the act itself, the most difficult part for me is being alone. In my older age, I have come to enjoy time to myself much more than I used to, but sometimes it does get a little lonely. Do you hear the violins? I try different things to combat this. Sometimes, I turn the T.V. on in the background or play music to cut through the silence. I get out of the house and work in coffee shops and at the library. I talk to my dog, who for the most part just stares at me or barks at noises she hears outside…

But I do miss the social interaction I had at a 9-5 job. My dream would be to have an office, and not like a sad, depressing office, where the only character comes from a cat calendar pinned to someone’s bulletin board, but a really fun, creative (yet, neat and organized) space where writers could get together each day, even for just a few hours, and work together. Are all writers complete loners? Am I doomed to a life in a robe, writing and drinking in the middle of the day, and talking to my dog? I’m not in a robe, but I thought it added some effect. I also don’t drink in the middle of the day (when I’m alone anyway). Just wanted to make that clear. I wonder if any other writers feel this way?

So for those of you sitting in an office right now, feeling like you can’t get anything done because of meetings, loud co-workers, and maybe construction in the floor above you, don’t completely write it off. You might miss it if it was gone. Have a great weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

The Renegade Writer

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

