The 1950’s.

30 Jan

My (unfinished) novel takes place during two decades: the 1950’s and the 1980’s. Spending equal time researching as I am writing, I have discovered plenty about both decades. I was alive in the 1980’s, but considering I think I still had baby teeth in 1990, more exploration was needed. Today’s blog post may shed some light for you on the 1950’s. Don’t worry, I will take a walk down 1980’s memory lane eventually, but haven’t you had your fill from the ever-present, “You know you were a child of the ’80’s, if…” Facebook posts? Yes, I know it’s fun to remember all the fun you had with your Glow Worm.

Here are 10 FUN FIFTIES FACTS (learned through books, documentaries, articles, and interviews):

1. Women always wore gloves to job interviews.

What better way to hide a wedding ring, which meant you were about to be knocked up (if not already) or the lack of a wedding ring, which meant you might be a floozy?

2. Babies and children rode around in the back seat of cars in ‘car beds.’

Nothing says safety like a small metal bed with a blanket, not secured to anything.

3. Domestic drinking gained popularity and the cocktail hour was born.

Awesome.

4. It was acceptable to serve jello with meat and vegetables inside.

This is disgusting, even for the Midwest.*

5. The Frisbee was invented.

Who knew then that this would lead to Frolf?

6. A pound of hamburger was 30 cents (in St. Louis).

It was still $19.00 a pound in California.

7. Candy dishes could be found in every room of the house.

This trend needs to come back into fashion, so I don’t have to keep asking people if they have candy for me to snack on while we chat in their living room.

8. Andrei Gromyko became the foreign minister of the Soviet Union in 1957.

Don’t even pretend you knew this.

9. Most people ate sandwiches for lunch.

I guess this isn’t so groundbreaking. I was just surprised. I thought lunches were more pork-chop and meat jello based.

10. The very first Major League Baseball regular season game was played in California.

Yes, the St. Louis Cardinals had already won six World Series titles at this point.

*my pretentiousness rears its ugly head.

With that, I wish you a very happy Wednesday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Scribbler

creative writing at Central Library

Succulent Words

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

SlushPile Hell

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Andrea Wood Portfolio

The published works of Andrea Wood - Writer, Designer & Journalist

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Now Novel

Novel writing blog; tips, tricks, news and how-to's.- NowNovel.com

WRITERS HELPING WRITERS®

Home of The Bookshelf Muse

Kitchen Unlocked

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

The Courage 2 Create

This is the story of me writing my first novel...and how life keeps getting in the way.

Renegade Writer Press

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Make A Living Writing

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

Storyfix.com

Novel Writing, Screenwriting and Storytelling Tips & Fundamentals

The Writers Alley

Naming my blog and other adventures in writing.

